New York State Law Now Requires Rear Seat Passengers in New York to Wear a Seatbelt
On November 1, 2020, Governor Cuomo signed legislation that requires all passengers in a motor vehicle to wear their seatbelt. Before the recent changes, New York state law only required the driver and the front-seat passenger to wear their seatbelts.
What are the penalties?
The penalties for not wearing a seatbelt in the backseat vary. It is the driver’s responsibility to make sure that all passengers under the age of 16 are wearing a seatbelt. If there are any passengers under 16 not wearing a seatbelt, the driver can receive a fine of up to $100. On the other hand, any passengers or drivers over the age of 16 can receive a fine of up to $50. Along with that fine, drivers can have penalty points added to their license.
Seatbelt Safety Statistics
Since the initial 1984 seatbelt law, seat belt usage has increased to 90%. However, according to the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee, unbuckled passengers account for 30% of all highway deaths in New York. Safety experts stated that approximately two out of three of these fatalities can be prevented with the updated seatbelt law.
Seat belts save lives and can help prevent serious injuries. If you or a loved one has been injured in a motor vehicle accident, please contact Avanzino and Moreno at 718-802-1616.
Avanzino & Moreno, LLC, offers this information solely for your entertainment. It is not legal advice and should not be considered as such. This information does not confer any promise or guarantee of outcome, monetary damages, legal services or success in any particular case